Home LifestyleArt and Culture Authorities announce the reopening dates of the archaeological zones of the Yucatán Peninsula

Authorities announce the reopening dates of the archaeological zones of the Yucatán Peninsula

by Yucatan Times
0 comment

The archaeological zones of the Yucatán Peninsula closed due to the arrival of Hurricane Beryl during the early hours of Friday, July 5, to avoid possible effects on visitors.

Due to this, the Ministry of Culture of the Government of Mexico, through the National Institute of Anthropology and History (INAH), reported this Saturday, July 6, the reopening of the archaeological zones of these regions after Beryl was downgraded to a tropical storm and left the Peninsula.

In Yucatán, the Great Museum of Chichen Itzá was temporarily closed since July 3, and the archaeological zone closed from July 4.

On the other hand, the INAH also detailed that the sites that would temporarily suspend their access to visitors in the state of Quintana Roo are Tulum, Cobá, Chacchoben, Dzibanché, Kinichná, El Meco, Xelhá, El Rey, Kohunlich, Muyil, Oxtankah, San Gervasio and San Miguelito.

These measures were applied as part of the Cultural Heritage Disaster Prevention Program (Previnah) since the National Meteorological Service (SMN) predicted the impact of Beryl as a category two hurricane.

The authorities reported the reopening of the archaeological zones of Campeche, which will receive visitors starting Saturday, July 6.

The areas that are already open to the public in Campeche are Edzná, Hochob, Tabasqueño, Dzibilnocac, Santa Rosa Xtampak, Xcalumkín, Kankí, Chunhuhub, Tohcok.

The museums that already receive visitors in the same state are Mayan Architecture, Baluarte de la Soledad, Underwater Archeology, Fort of San José El Alto, Mayan Archeology, and Fort of San Miguel.

In addition, the Calakmul archaeological zone will be closed on Mondays the 1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd, and 29th due to repaving works on the access road.

Regarding the archaeological zones of Yucatán, the authorities indicated that the heritage sites resumed their visits on Sunday, July 7.

The archaeological zones that reopened are Acanceh, Aké, Chacmultún, Ek’Balam, Izamal, Kabah, Labná, Oxkintok, Sayil, Xlapak, Xcambó, Uxmal.

The museums in Yucatán reopened on this same date are the Regional Anthropology of Yucatán Palacio Cantón.

Likewise, the INAH reported that for civil protection and cleaning reasons, the Archaeological Zone and the Great Museum of Chichén Itzá will remain closed until further notice. Because of this, the institute asked for the public’s understanding as they continue to work to rehabilitate the site.

In addition, the INAH reported that as a civil protection measure, the Tamtoc Archaeological Zone will remain closed starting Saturday, July 6, until further notice.

TYT Newsroom

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our Company

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consect etur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis.


Laest News

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin