Home Feature Meet the Mexican Independent Presidential Candidates that will contend in 2024

Meet the Mexican Independent Presidential Candidates that will contend in 2024

by Magali Alvarez
0 comment

The National Electoral Institute (INE) received applications from citizens seeking to run independently in the 2024 presidential elections.

The following are some of them:

Ulises Ruiz

Ulises Ruiz

The former Governor of Oaxaca revealed his intentions as an independent presidential candidate on June 15 with a spot in which he played the role of a kidnapping victim.

“Morena and its government are allies of organized crime and the narco. We can’t go on like this. This situation must change”, the former official openly criticizes the administration of President Andrés Manuel López Obrador.

Originally from Chalcatongo de Hidalgo, Oaxaca, Ruíz was a PRI militant from the 1980s until 2021 when the party expelled him in retaliation for expressing criticism against the national leadership.

Political career

From 1992 to 1995, he was a local deputy in the LV Legislature of the Oaxaca Congress; from 1997 to 2000, he served as a federal representative in the LVII Legislature and held the position of Senator of the Republic in the LVIII and LIX Legislatures from 2000 to 2004.

Amid protests of alleged electoral fraud, Ruiz was sworn in as Governor of Oaxaca. His administration was tainted by accusations of arbitrary detentions, disappearances, extrajudicial executions, and torture.

Eduardo Verástegui

Eduardo Verástegui

The actor turned ultra-conservative and extreme right-wing political activist took advantage of his stay in the country to promote his film…
To read more about Eduardo Verastegui click here!

Hugo Eric Flores

Hugo Eric Flores

The current Federal Delegate of the Welfare Secretariat programs in Morelos, presented his application as a presidential aspirant to the INE on August 6, according to the electoral body.

The former PRI member founded the State Political Grouping “Encuentro Social” as a civil association on May 13, 2005.

Until the Baja California State Electoral Council granted its registration as a political party under the name of Partido Encuentro Social (PES) on October 20, 2006.


Flores served as presidential advisor during Ernesto Zedillo’s term.

Between 2002 and 2004, he was General Director of Regulations of the Institute for the Protection of Bank Savings, and after Felipe Calderón became President in 2006, he was appointed Senior Official of Semarnat.

However, six months later he was disqualified from holding public office for 10 years for fraud.

During Marcelo Ebrard’s administration, he was the Director General of Government in Mexico City (formerly Federal District).

In 2021, Flores was accused of homophobia after declaring himself against members of the LGBT+ community competing for elected office.

Porfirio Moreno Jimenez

The businessman from Hidalgo also went to the INE headquarters on September 7 to register for the second time as an independent candidate.

In 2018 he also registered, but only collected 600 thousand signatures.

He assured that although he is still ‘indebted’ for the expenses generated by the collection of support in that election, he will try again.

Jimenez has tried the same way to become governor of Hidalgo on at least three occasions, in the processes of 2011-2012; 2015-2016, when he also failed to collect the required number of signatures, and in 2021-2022, in which the Morenista Julio Menchaca was the winner.

However, the electoral body has not yet confirmed the validity of his request.

Other citizens also opted to file their request:

Francisco Gerardo Becerra Ávalos- Clistenes and MONBEC.
Fortino Rangel Amézquita- Gran Mexican Presidencia
Francisco Javier Becerril López- Evolución Riqueza Humana A.C. (application in process)
Rocío Gabriela González Castañeda, application approved.
Carlos Baldemar Olivar Corral
Salomón López López
Simón Pérez Torres
Antonio Correa González- Unidad Popular Mexicana de Servicios Social
Renato Emilio Sánchez Carmona
Ramiro Díaz Hernández
César Enrique Asiain del Castillo, application approved
María Ofelia Edgar Mares of ‘Tribu de la Vaca Morada’ (request approved)
Fernando Mauricio Jiménez Chávez- Political Excellence
Jorge Basurto Vargas- MEUNIJASEV
Emilio Cosgaya Rodríguez
Carlos Castillo Cabrera- Green Lives Ilse
Applicants whose applications have not yet been approved have until Monday to submit the missing information, so next Wednesday INE will release the final list.

The next step
Once the citizens have the certificate accrediting their aspirations, they will have to collect signatures equivalent to 1 percent of the country’s nominal list.

According to INE’s requirements, any independent presidential aspirant will have a deadline of January 6, 2024, to gather all the required signatures.

The people aspiring to an independent candidacy must carry out acts tending to collect the percentage of support required by the Law, by means other than radio and television, from the day following the date on which the candidate’s certificate of candidacy is issued’, reads the INE’s call.

TYT Newsroom

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our Company

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consect etur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis.


Laest News

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin