Home NewsPeninsulaCampeche 84 municipalities of the Yucatan Peninsula to vote on Tren Maya Project this weekend

84 municipalities of the Yucatan Peninsula to vote on Tren Maya Project this weekend

by Yucatan Times
0 comment

Residents of 84 municipalities on the Yucatan Peninsula are voting on President Andrés Manuel López Obrador’s ambitious infrastructure project.

Indigenous communities and authorities in Tunkás, Tixpéhual, Dzitás and Chihimilá, all communities where the train intends to pass, are casting their vote today, Saturday Dec. 14th.

Other municipalities of Yucatan such as Abalá, Baca, Cacalchén, Chemax, Huhí, Kanasín, Maxcanú, Seyé, Suma, Temozón, Tinum, Tunkás, Ucú, Valladolid and Yaxkukul will also participate in the public consultation on Saturday.

On Sunday, the general population will also have the opportunity to vote. In Merida, voting tables will be set up in the Plaza Grande, Parque Eulogio Rosado, San Juan, Almendros de Ciudad Caucel, Francisco de Montejo Church, Pensiones IV, Colonia Alemán, Arbolada de San Antonio Xluch III and Colonia Dolores Otero.

AMLO himself stated the project’s goal is “the integrated development of southeastern Mexico and the Yucatan Peninsula.”

People in the states of Yucatan, Oaxaca, Quintana Roo, Tabasco, Campeche and Chiapas will cast their vote on Saturday Dec. 14th and Sunday December the 15th.

The Yucatan Times Newsroom

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our Company

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consect etur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis.


Laest News

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin