Formula One “Gran Premio de México” to take place on “Day of the Dead”

FIA (Automobile International Federation) unveiled the Formula One calendar for 2020, with a record 22 Grand Prix races. The calendar is subject to the approval of the World Council of the International Automobile Federation on October 4.

The calendar planned to celebrate the seventieth anniversary of Formula One in 2020 starts on March 15 in Australia and ends, as usual, in Abu Dhabi on November 29.

The draft includes as main novelty a Grand Prix on a street circuit in Vietman, scheduled for April 5. In addition, the Formula One retunrs to the Netherlands on May 5.

Australia, Great Britain and Spain, the FIA ​​recalled in a statement, renewed their contracts this year and will remain on the calendar in 2020, which reaches a record 22 races.

As for the Mexico Grand Prix, it will take place on November 1st, Mexican holiday of “Día de Muertos” (Day of the dead), which most likely will result in a bunch of people in custome sitting on the stands cheering for Sergio “Checo” Pérez, the only Mexican pilot on the circuit; and having a great time.


1. Australia (March 15)

2. Bahrain (March 22)

3. Vietnam (April 5)

4. China (April 19)

5. Holland (May 3)

6. Spain (May 10)

7. Monaco (May 24)

8. Azerbaijan (June 7)

9. Canada (June 14)

10. France (June 28)

11. Austria (July 5)

12. Great Britain (July 19)

13. Hungary (August 2)

14. Belgium (August 30)

15. Italy (September 6)

16. Singapore (September 20)

17. Russia (September 27)

18. Japan (October 11)

19. United States (October 25)

20. Mexico (November 1)

21. Brazil (November 15)

22. Abu Dhabi (November 29).

The Yucatan Times Newsroom with information from FIA