Home Headlines Peru Bans Entry To Maduro And Other Members Of Venezuela Government

Peru Bans Entry To Maduro And Other Members Of Venezuela Government

by Yucatan Times
0 comment

LIMA — Peru announced that as of Monday January 7 2019 it was denying entry to Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro and his cabinet, increasing pressure on the socialist leader days ahead of his second-term inauguration. This decision was announced by Peru’s Foreign Minister Nestor Popolizio after a pronouncement was made Friday by 12 Latin American countries and Canada, not to grant recognition to Maduro’s hardline government following his controversial re-election in May.

Popolizio told Peru’s RPP radio that Lima’s immigration authority would be given a list of all the members linked to the leadership of the Maduro regime, including family members, so that they cannot enter the country.  — “The measure is to take effect immediately” —Popolizio stated. The ban will also include bank transfers from individuals named on the list.

The 14-members of the “Lima Group” met in the Peruvian capital on Friday to discuss ways to step up pressure on Maduro’s regime. The Group, which includes Canada, called on Maduro to temporarily transfer power to the opposition-controlled National Assembly until free elections can be held.

Mexico —under the new leftist regime of Lopez Obrador — has refused to sign the statement. López defended this pronouncement on Monday, saying his administration was simply following a policy of “non-intervention.” —”It’s not about ideological sympathies,” — he explained.

Nicolas Maduro attending Lopez Obrador inauguration on December 01 2018

Maduro was re-elected on May 20th 2018 in a ballot boycotted by the main opposition parties and widely condemned by the international community, including the United States.


The Yucatan Times

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our Company

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consect etur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis.


Laest News

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin