Home LifestyleArt and Culture Mexico has 10 new Magic Towns

Mexico has 10 new Magic Towns

by Yucatan Times
0 comment

The following locations are added to the 111 that make up the program. Check them out!

After analyzing 88 applications of municipalities interested in belonging to the select group of towns classified as Magical Towns, there were only 10 municipalities that managed to cover the requirements and that now form part of the program that operates the Tourism Secretariat of Mexico. The above was announced at the National Fair of Magical Towns, held in Morelia, Michoacán.

There, it was proved that the 10 new Magical Towns are municipalities that fulfilled the necessary characteristics to be able to reach this denomination that has become a reference for millions of tourists eager to travel through Mexico.

The person in charge of giving the announcement was the head of Sectur, Enrique de la Madrid, during the inauguration of the 5th National Fair of Magical Towns, held in Morelia, Michoacán; a state that, by the way, now has its ninth Magic Town, same as Puebla and the State of Mexico, states with the greatest number of Magic Towns.

These are the municipalities that are included in the list of Magical Towns in Mexico:

  1. Melchor Múzquiz, Coahuila
  2. Nombre de Dios, Durango Imagen relacionada
  3. Comonfort, Guanajuato
  4. Zimapán, Hidalgo
  5. Tlaquepaque, Jalisco Imagen relacionada
  6. Compostela, Nayarit
  7. Amealco de Bonfil, Querétaro
  8. Aquismón, San Luis Potosí Imagen relacionada
  9. Bustamante, Nuevo León
  10. Guadalupe, Zacatecas Imagen relacionada

This 2018 marks the 17th anniversary of the start of the Magical Towns project, a program that has benefited different regions of the country in tourism and through which, according to information from SECTUR, $3,400 million pesos have been invested in this last sexennium to improve the infrastructure of the municipalities that reach the denomination.

It should be noted that among the 88 applications received and that were left out of the program today were municipalities such as Holbox, in Quintana Roo, Tecali de Herrera, in Puebla, and San Carlos, in Sonora.


TYT Newsroom with information from: The Mazatlan Post

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Our Company

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consect etur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis.


Laest News

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin