Daylight Savings Time ends in Mexico this Sunday Oct. 25

Daylight saving time officially ends for most of Mexico at 2:00 am this Sunday October 25th.

Since Mexico did not go along with the changes that the United States made to established daylight savings time in 2007 to save energy, the shift from daylight savings time to standard time in most of Mexico will take place this Sunday, October 25th at 2 am, while U.S. citizens will not set their clocks back until 2 am on Sunday, November 1, 2015.

Ten northern border municipalities observe the same DST schedule as the United States. They are: Cd. Acuña, Anahuac, Juarez, Matamoros, Mexicali, Nuevo Laredo, Ojinaga, Piedras Negras, Reynosa, and Tijuana. But the rest of Mexico will be an hour behind the U.S. for the next week, something visitors may find useful to know – especially those arriving by cruise ship or airplane.

Daylight saving time officially ends for most of Mexico at 2 am this Sunday, October 25, 2015. (Photo:

If you are here in Yucatán, be sure to set your clocks back one hour before going to bed on Saturday night.

But if you are in Quintana Roo, you must remember that there is no change absolutely whatsoever, the time remains the same as it is right now in that state. So next week, if you cross over the state line just a few miles east of Valladolid, you will enter the state of Quintana Roo an hour before you left the state of Yucatán.

TYT Newsroom