Flags are Waved for the Start of the Rally Maya 2015

Mercedes Benz

Rally Mexico Maya 2015

The Rally Maya Mexico starts today in Merida, Yucatan, with more than 110 collectible automobiles.

The race will cover 1,200 kilometers (745 miles), and will take place in five stages.

The cars, which in some cases are more than 90 years old, will tour the archaeological sites of Mayapan and Chichen Itza, and the tourist destinations of Playa del Carmen, Cancun, among other places.

Race Stages:

  1. Mérida – Campeche (Merida, Hacienda Yaxcopoil, Campeche)
  2. Campeche – Uxmal (Campeche, Hopelchen, Santa Rosa Xtampak,          Xtacumbixunan Caves, Uxmal)
  3. Uxmal – Telchac Puerto (Uxmal, Ticul, Mani, Za. Mayapan, Acanceh, Merida, Progreso, Telchac Puerto)
  4. Telchac Puerto – Chichen Itza (Telchac Puerto, Dzilam Gonzalez, Dzidzantun, Tizimin, Chichen Itza)
  5. Chichen itza – Cancun (Chichen itza, Valladolid, Playa del Carmen, Cancun)


The first stage, which starts in Merida, will cover seven points in its path: Uman, Hacienda Yaxcopoil, Muna, Bécal, Calkiní, Hecelchakán and Pomuch finishing in the state of Campeche.

It is important to note that the Rally is not a speed race but a precision competition“, explained Rafael Machado, one of the event organizers:

“It consists in meeting an establish time during check points, and also to not be over or below certain speeds ”


Source: http://www.theyucatantimes.com/